5 Habits of a Happy Woman

 image
Happiness is the key to a fulfilled life. No amount of money can buy it for you, and no one can gift it you. Yet, to reach your full potential, you must have it. I’m far from perfect, and I have down days just like everyone else. But I know I’ve found true happiness. I haven’t always felt this way, and these habits have helped me along my journey. Here are a few simple things, in no particular order, that contribute to my inner peace.

1. Learn to distinguish what’s important from what’s not.  I put things that truly matter to me first. Would I like an abundance of time for myself? Yes! What mom wouldn’t? But time is important, so spend it wisely. I’m not going to miss a sporting event for my kids, or a road trip with my husband for something that doesn’t really matter. I’m not saying don’t designate time for yourself, but don’t skip a field trip for a hair appointment.

2. Appreciate our world.  With the hustle and bustle of everyday life, it’s easy to overlook the beauty all around us. Get outdoors! Hike a nature trail. Take a walk in the park. It’s not only good for your soul, it’s good for your body, too.

3. Don’t expect too much from people.  No one owes you anything. We are all blessed to be given life, we aren’t entitled it. We should appreciate what the people in our lives do for us instead of focusing on what they don’t. Sally at work didn’t remember your birthday? Your friend showed up late to help you set up your kid’s birthday party? Guess what, people make mistakes, and they have lives too. Don’t allow yourself to be let down, because it’s not the end of the world.

4. Embrace your passions.  Find what you love and explore it! From hobbies to career paths, keep finding new things you love, and learn all you can about them. You’ll get to know yourself so much better along the way.

5. Count your blessings.  I can’t express enough how important this is. No matter what journey you’re on, there is always something to be thankful for. I thank God everyday, throughout the day, for his blessings in my life.

As I sit here, stomach growling, I’m reminded of the sixth habit of a happy woman, PIZZA! Too bad I’m already making spaghetti, at my husbands request, for the fam. We did have pizza last night, but it’s the one food I never tire of (remember what’s important, remember what’s important…).

9 thoughts on “5 Habits of a Happy Woman

Leave a Reply

