Top 5 Summer Movies

There’s something about the cinema experience that you can’t get at home, and it’s not just the big screen.  We rent a lot of movies, and recreate said experience with popcorn and chocolate-covered raisins.  I’ll admit, it’s great covering up with a blanket and laying on the couch with my family, until someone has to go to the bathroom, or the phone rings.  It’s so easy to check out Pinterest while waiting on the previews, but this sets the tone for distracted viewing.  When we’re in the theatre, all distractions fade away and nothing occupies our minds but our wildest imaginings coming to life on the big screen.  And there’s the butter.  I love a side of popcorn with my movie theatre butter!  Here are the top 5 movies I’m most excited to see this summer.

  1. Avengers: Age of Ultron
    Rated PG-13, Release Date- May 1, 2015

    This made the list for obvious reasons.  The Avengers was a massive success at the box office, and the sequel is bound to be the movie event of the summer.  I can’t wait to see what baddies Ironman and company are up against when they save the world from destruction once again.  But can we please get more Thor and Jane?  It’s disappointing Natalie Portman didn’t have a cameo in the first (I realize Thor: The Dark World touched on this).  Also, my villain standards are pretty high, so Ultron better bring something that Loki can’t.  Miss you Loki!

  2. Jurassic World
    Expected MPAA Rating PG-13, Release Date- June 12, 2015

    Dinosaurs. Steven Spielberg.  That’s enough reason for me to race to the theatre on this one!  Jurassic Park was an insta-classic and beyond ahead of its time.  I can’t wait to experience velociraptors and the newest monster, the Indominis Rex, with today’s visual effects.  As someone who watches Jurassic Park every time it’s on the tube, it’s been too long since I’ve sat in the theatre in wonder at the beasts of yesteryear.

  3. Max
    Rated PG, Release Date- June 26, 2015

    The story of a Belgian Malinois that helps save Marines in Afghanistan.  After the loss of his owner, he’s sent to live with the grieving family.  As a fan of Marley and Me, André, and Shiloh; I need a good four-legged hero in my life.  The fact that it’s based (loosely I’m sure) on a true story is just a bonus.

  4. Minions
    Rated PG, Release Date- July 10, 2015

    They’re yellow!  They speak their own language!  And they were the most memorable characters from the Despicable Me films.  It’s about time they get their own gig!  My kids and I don’t care what this is about, if it has minions in it, we’re seeing it.  Plus, Sandra Bullock voices the super villain, Scarlett Overkill.

  5. Pan
    Expected MPAA Rating PG, Release Date- Expected July 24, 2015

    Oh Neverland, how I’ve missed you.  This re-imagining tells the tale of Peter Pan before he becomes the notorious child-like hero that we all know and love.  Garrett Hedlund plays the infamous Hook, though Dustin Hoffman’s mustache will forever live on in my heart.  I love a magical film on the big screen, and I hope this lives up to my expectations.

There you have it, the top 5 movies I’m most excited to see this summer.  And, yes, I realize that a few of them actually have a spring debut, but I’ll be in a summer state of mind by then.

Leave a Reply

