Spring Break:  break for whom?

It’s that time of year again, when the winter coats get put away, and toenail polish makes its long-awaited debut.  After surviving a mini vacation (a stay-cay perhaps?), I have three goals in mind for my week away from math and lesson plans:  get the kids’ bedrooms organized, revise my current story, and prep my backyard for the gardening ahead.  I can only hope sunshine makes its way into the regime.

Now, I’m not one of those people that live and breathe order.  I think that for a home to exude comfort, it needs just the right amount of disorder.  However, that doesn’t mean that I want toys strung throughout every nook and cranny of my humble abode.  Fast forward to a few months after many Christmas celebrations, two children’s birthdays, and Valentine’s Day, and you have a recipe for a toy disaster.  Leave it to mom to fix it before it gets out of hand.  I wouldn’t want them swallowed up by a quicksand of American girl doll accessories and ninja turtles.

So, I decided to read my children’s story aloud during the long car rides of our mini-vacation.  Now, I’ve done this on more than one occasion, but only certain chapters at a time, or bits and pieces here and there, for my kids.  Reading it from beginning to end, in only two sittings, made me see so many things differently.  I wish I’d done it months ago!  I’ve revised here and there for a while now, but I needed to hear my words again to increase my motivation.  So there WAS a reason I endured the countless bathroom stops, arguments over the ipad, and enough are we there yet?’s for a lifetime!

My backyard isn’t so much the problem as my lack of gardening expertise!  I’ve only made one attempt at a vegetable garden, and let’s just say, it was a disaster.  I refuse to feed only the rabbits this time.  A few years have passed, our family has grown, and I now have the jewel that is Pinterest.

Now if I can only survive a week with no bedtimes!

Leave a Reply

