That Little Push…

Some of the characters in my first book, drawn by my very talented girl.
Some of the characters in my first book, drawn by my very talented girl.

A little over a year ago, my daughter and I had to pick up my husband from the airport. We left way too early, partly because I hate driving through an airport at the last-minute, and partly because I wanted to stop at my favorite pizza place along the way. We took our pie to go and parked to dive in to the saucy goodness. It is all about the sauce.

At her request, I told her a story. This was nothing new; I’ve told my children countless stories of made-up characters on car rides, at bedtime, even when we’re singing aloud and just need a story to go along with our song.

Well, we scarfed our pizza down fairly quickly, Daddy’s flight got delayed, and I was too uncomfortably pregnant to want to shop that day, so I continued the tale. After a few weeks of begging me to continue the story, I decided I’d finally write a book. And that’s how this writing journey began. I can’t say that I’m surprised, writing has always been in the back of my mind. I guess I just needed a little person to give me that extra push to get me started. With three stories under my belt, I feel like I’m learning something new everyday!

Leave a Reply

